Modal verbs

Here it is an introduction to this extensive and complex area of English grammar: modal verbs.

Some of the most useful modals are: can, could, will, would, shall, should, must, may and might. They are used with other verbs to express ability, obligation, possibility, and so on. Below is a list showing them and their most common meanings:

Can

can speak a little Russian.

We can’t fix it.

Can I open the window?

Can you help me?

Ability / Possibility

Inability / Impossibility

Asking for permission

Request

Could

Could I borrow your dictionary?

Could you say that again more slowly?

We could try to fix it ourselves.

I think we could go to war again.

He gave up his old job so he could work for us.

Asking for permission.

Request

Suggestion

Future possibility

Ability in the past

May

May I have another cup of coffee?

may be home late.

Asking for permission

Future possibility

Might

We’d better phone tomorrow, they might be eating their dinner now.

You never know, they might give us a 10% discount.

Present possibility

Future possibility

Must

must go now.

They mustn’t disrupt the work more than necessary.

She must be over 90 years old.

Necessity / Obligation

Prohibition

Expressing strong belief

Shall

(More common
in the UK
than the US)

Shall I help you with your luggage?

Shall we say 2.30 then?

Shall I do that or will you?

Offer

Suggestion

Asking what to do

Should

We should sort out this problem at once.

I think we should check everything again.

You should check your posture when using the computer.

Profits should increase next year.

Saying what’s right or correct

Recommending action

Giving advice

Uncertain prediction

Will

I can’t see any taxis so I’ll walk.

I’ll do that for you if you like.

I’ll get back to you first thing on Monday.

Profits will increase next year.

Instant decisions

Offer

Promise

Certain prediction

Would

Would you mind if I brought a colleague with me?

Would you like a cup of tea?

“Would three o`clock suit you?” – “That’d be fine.”

Would you like to play golf this Friday?

“Would you prefer tea or coffee?” – “I’d like tea please.”

Asking for permission

Making a request or offer

 

Making arrangements

Invitation

Stating Preferences

Modal verbs are unlike other verbs. They do not change their form (spelling) and they have no infinitive or participle (past/present).

Modals are auxiliary verbs. They do not need an additional auxiliary in negatives or questions. For example: Must I come? (Do I must come?), or: He shouldn’t smoke (He doesn’t should smoke).

http://esl.fis.edu/grammar/rules/modal.htm

https://www.learnenglish.de/grammar/verbmodal.html

Deixe um comentário